Guest Reviews On BedandBreakfast.Com!

For the Complete version of these reviews, go to the Wakefield Farms page at www.bedandbreakfast.com !

Best Weekend Getaway

Stayed On 5 / 2012  Reviewed on: 5/20/2012

Only an hours drive from Houston, this was a great place for my husband and I to getaway. After a long week a work we wanted to getaway but couldn't afford to drive far or pay too much. Wakefield was a perfect place to end up. We stayed in the Saltbox cottage. The decore was wonderful, we felt … read moreright at home with plenty of room to relax. We spent most of the day in the wonderful pool, right off the porch. I really enjoyed seeing all the animals, and birds fly around as I soaked up the sun and relaxed. Breakfest is not at the BandB but in town at the Chappell Hill Cafe. IT WAS EXCELLENT! I want to go back very soon!

 

Wakefield Farms

Stayed On 3 / 2012  Reviewed on: 4/30/2012

Great stay. It's so peaceful & wonderful -- especially to watch all the baby goats and sheep run and play in the fields that are overflowing with bluebonnets. It's very clean & comfortable. It's a beautiful place.

 

a little bit of paradise

Stayed On 4 / 2012  Reviewed on: 4/15/2012

Loved the little saltbox, everything was designed for our comfort and enjoyment. Susan was friendly and helpful. The grounds were magnificent - wildflowers were in full bloom. We enjoyed the assortment of friendly beasts who greeted us or allowed us to watch them in the pasture.

 

Beautiful setting, lovely historic cottage - a rare treat!

Stayed On 1 / 2012  Reviewed on: 1/29/2012

We loved our night at Wakefield Farms. As architects we appreciate the attention to detail and the care that has been lavished on these historic houses. It was fun to read about the history of the house, and we felt very well taken care of even though we were left alone. My husband is a bit of a … read moreskeptic when it comes to B & Bs, and he was pleasantly surprised. We'd love to return in the warm weather to take advantage of the pool.

 

Wonderful stay!!

Stayed On 10 / 2011  Reviewed on: 11/20/2011

We need a little getaway and this was perfect!! We will definately be back.

 

Luxurious Country Retreat!

Stayed On 9 / 2011  Reviewed on: 9/21/2011

This place is fabulous! This was our group's 2nd annual reunion and everything was excellent AGAIN! We had massages on site! We enjoyed the lovely pool and outdoor areas along with the event center, which was a great place to gather as a group for meals, etc. I would highly recommend this to … read morefriends, family, clients, etc. GREAT PLACE!

 

Beautiful, quiet & serene

Stayed On 7 / 2011  Reviewed on: 8/4/2011

Had a wonderful 3 night stay! Will definitely be back. Enjoyed the pool, and bright starry nights. Not to mention the quiet! Susan took real good care of us. Breakfast at Chappell Hill Cafe is wonderful!

 

An Absolute Must-Visit!! Great Value! We will be back!

Stayed On 6 / 2011  Reviewed on: 6/16/2011

I planned a surprise weekend getaway for my husband, and I chose Wakefield because of it's secluded location, farm-fresh ambiance, stunning antique decor, and the pool! We were NOT disappointed!! When we walked into the door of the Saltbox Farmhouse, his jaw dropped. Pictures don't do it … read morejustice. I highly recommend the Parlor Suite. We got lots of decorating ideas for our own home. My husband was very comfortable with the furnishings; it was not at all the typical "frou-frou" B&B that I had found in the area. We treasured our suite, which was a fresh, clean space to really relax in. Cool, clean, and comfortable, it was perfect for a summer weekend of exploring the Brenham/Chappell Hill/Navasota area. The innkeeper, Susan, was accommodating, friendly, and a pleasure to work with. I really enjoyed seeing all of the farm animals that live on the neat, rolling hills and pastures of Wakefield Farms. It's a short drive to Brenham, Chappell Hill, and Washington-on-the-Brazos. We enjoyed shopping, exploring, and seeing lots of historic sites. But the best part of the day was coming back to the cool room to relax on our wonderfully fluffy, queen canopy bed. We got three nights for the price of two, but the regular rate is very affordable. You get a great stay for the price!! Breakfast is served at a local cafe. We really enjoyed the home-style bacon, eggs, and grits! We did have a bit of a problem getting up early for breakfast on Sunday, but the Chappell Hill Cafe honored our breakfast tokens. To wrap it up, I have already recommended this to all of my friends and family. My husband and I plan on coming back to Wakefield Farms in the future, possibly with other couples. Please go stay, I know you will enjoy it!

 

Great anniversary getaway!

Stayed On 5 / 2011  Reviewed on: 5/30/2011

The rooms were wonderful! Very tastefully decorated. We left with many decorating ideas to try at home. We felt well-pampered in our Ralph Lauren bathrobes and linens! Susan was very attentive to our requests, and very helpful in arranging a surprise massage and obtaining reservations at a local … read morerestaurant. George was busy on the farm, but very friendly and welcoming when we met him. We absolutely loved our stay and plan to return. The only thing we would have changed would have been breakfast. It is not on-site,instead we were issued "wooden nickels" for breakfast at a local cafe. It was "okay", but lacked the pampered feel of the special breakfasts we have had at other B & B's. Overall we would rate the accommodations a 10, but breakfast a 4.

 

Listening to the wind...

Stayed On 4 / 2011  Reviewed on: 4/12/2011

My sisters & i took Mom for her birthday to Wakefield Farms & stayed in the Greek Revival Farmhouse. It was the prettiest "old" house i have ever seen in my life. Susan's degrees in Fashion Design are evident in the beautiful antiques & decor. From the harlequin design painted on the … read moreentry floor to the beautifully painted walls, ceilings, & bathrooms it was perfect. Thank-you Susan for the relaxing time we spent sitting by the pool, listening to the wind, watching birds & laughing at the goats climbing on the tree logs & the treats you left us. We enjoyed visiting with you & hope to feed the babies next time ;-). take care, debbie

 

Mother/Daughter/Sister Retreat

Stayed On 4 / 2011  Reviewed on: 4/11/2011

What a beautiful, relaxing time the 5 of us had this past weekend. 60 acres of God's country! The colonial decor and soft music upon entering just made us want to sit and soak it all in. Exactly what we needed and then off to the Bluebonnet Festival. Would recomend for sure.

 

Wonderful Wakefield Farms

Stayed On 3 / 2011  Reviewed on: 4/4/2011

Our stay at Wakefield Farms Bed and Breakfast was really delightful. It was very quiet, peaceful and private. We stayed in the "Saltbox" cottage and enjoyed the charm of the decor. Susan is a very gracious host who made us feel right at home. An added bonus was the adorable baby goats running and … read moreplaying in the fields. Very cute.

 

comfort and creativity

Stayed On 3 / 2011  Reviewed on: 4/3/2011

warm welcome with creative thoughtful touches. Felt right at home.

 

Seclusion

Stayed On 2 / 2011  Reviewed on: 2/26/2011

Wakefield Farms provides a quiet, secluded getaway in the hill country. My wife was especially pleased to be able to bottle feed a baby goat and we both enjoyed the shetland ponies. Overall, WF is a nice place to stay, though it is tucked a bit out of the way.

 

We already reserved a year in advance!

Stayed On 2 / 2011  Reviewed on: 2/15/2011

I reserved "the saltbox" for a romantic Valentine's Day weekend as a surprise for my honey and we were both pleasantly surprised at how nice the farm was. We loved our weekend getaway and have already planned to do it again next year! The saltbox was simple, homey, and smelled amazing! The tub was … read moregreat to share together and very romantic! We came at the right part of the season as well because we got to see lots of new offspring. One baby was born while we were there! I had never held a baby goat or sheep so that was fun and a new experience. A great quiet, romantic, relaxing getaway!! Thank you Susan and George!

 

Wonderful Experience

Stayed On 11 / 2010  Reviewed on: 11/29/2010

It was our 30th wedding anniversay, so wanted something special. It was far more than what we expected.

 

stay at wakefield farms

Stayed On 10 / 2010  Reviewed on: 10/14/2010

Wakefield was a beautiful place, I would stay there again. The only problem I had was that we were sent to eat at a restaurant for breakfast. Instead of served breakfast on the property. The bill was taken care of, but I would have like some sort of breakfast at the farm. Susan, the owner was … read morevery friendly, and full of wonderful stories about the animals on her farm and the buildings we stayed. The farm was extremely clean and the animals were such a joy to have around us.

 

AWESOME!

Stayed On 9 / 2010  Reviewed on: 9/20/2010

This is my new favorite B&B. The Saltbox is so cute and comfortable....truly a home away from home. The weekend was so relaxing. I can't wait to return!

 

Wakefield Farms

Stayed On 7 / 2010  Reviewed on: 8/10/2010

What a blessing! A historical charmer! The inn itself is warm, comfortable and homelike. Susan made us feel welcome, pampered and relaxed. We felt that every need would be met and that we could really focus on rekindling our marriage after a dozen years!

 

Paradise Found

Stayed On 6 / 2010  Reviewed on: 7/29/2010

Came to Wakefield Inn for a long weekend away from stress of work and family and got far more than we expected. Stayed in Greek Revival as a private house, so we got to enjoy privacy and perfect bliss as we shared the most romantic of weekends. The comfortable beds, the pool and time to reconnect each other. We realized on Sunday that we had not heard or watched news since we had been there. Close proximity to stores and restaurants meant that we could go out for what we needed, but the list was short as everything you could imagine was provided for. Susan is a gracious hostess who wants everyone who comes to Wakefield Farms to love it as she does. Her approach definitely works.

 

Perfect Getaway

Stayed On 6 / 2010  Reviewed on: 6/11/2010

The accomidations were spectacular. The scenery was beautiful, and the pool was WOW! My husband and I had never taken a weekend getaway because we always thought there was no place close to home but far enough away we could relax... until we found Wakefield Farms! We love it & will definitely … read morebe going back for many more trips!

 

Yesteryear's Romance with Todays' Amenities

Stayed On 4 / 2010  Reviewed on: 4/30/2010

After opening the shutters and filling my mug with freshly-brewed coffee, I climbed back into the pristine, luxurious be to enjoy the view of the grazing animals in the wildflower-filled meadow. Ahhhh! REFRESHING!!!

 

Wonderful Country B&B

Stayed On 4 / 2010  Reviewed on: 4/19/2010

Incredible setting; incredible guest accommodations; great attention to detail - delighful decor. Excellent innkeeper.

 

Will be back

Stayed On 7 / 2009  Reviewed on: 3/14/2010

My husband and I wanted to have a quite weekend away and discovered Wakefield Farms. We love staying at B&B’s all across the country. Not only was our room clean, but we truly felt at home. The special touches in our room and with breakfast made it hard to leave on Sunday afternoon. Thanks for a great weekend!!!

 

I had to write this!!!

Stayed On 9 / 2008 Reviewed on: 11/18/2008

I only stay in B&Bs' and this was the best. Wonderful innkeepers, best accomodations, and great grounds. Something for everyone. This B&B is much more than a good night's stay; it's an experience.

 

My Stay at Wakefield Farms

Stayed On 9 / 2008  Reviewed on: 10/9/2008

I loved this place. I stayed in the Saltbox and found it to be spotlessly clean and restored beautifully. The bed was so comfortable with lovely linens, pillows, comforters and quilts. I loved the privacy of being in the cottage and the beauty and peacefulness of the farm. I would love to stay … read morethere again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

 

Best of the Best

Stayed On 9 / 2008  Reviewed on: 10/8/2008

This is not your typical B & B! Picture beautifully restored cottages with fluffy beds, lovely antiques and innkeepers who think of it all! Spotless clean and totally first-class, this should be a well-kept secret no more! For a reunion, a family vacation or a quiet getaway for two, Wakefield Farms has it all. For the group event, there is a lovingly restored school house where you are served a TX breakfast right out of Southern Living! Shop no more - go to Wakefield Farms. I did, and it was fabulous.  Pam from St. Louis

 

Relaxing Getaway with TX Charm

Stayed On 9 / 2008  Reviewed on: 10/3/2008

I spent 3 enjoyable days at Wakefield Farm to attend a reunion with eight friends of 30 years. It is located on a beautiful TX farm with charming and tasteful accommodations that recall a period of TX history. A lovely pool and restored country school house compliment the guest rooms and provide a gathering place for dining, socializing or reading a book. The innkeeper is gracious and accommodating to ensure your visit is memorable. Location is only one hour drive from Houston which made it very accessible to out-of-towners. Linda from Seattle